Beaumont Trophy Event Information

Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
The Beaumont Trophy was first run in 1952, the year after the Gosforth Road Club was formed. It was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had its headquarters.
In the next 64yrs the race has been won by many famous riders including Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few. The most prolific winner of the Trophy is Ray Wetherell who has won it 5 times. Sir Bradley Wiggins has won it twice, once as National Champion in 2011.
The race was part of the British Cycling Premier Calendar for 7yrs before gaining UCI status in 2013. It is now on the International calendar as a UCI 1.2 event and is one of only 5 UCI events in the UK
The race is centered around the village of Stamfordham and takes in the fearsome climb of the Ryals where Team Sky launched their attack that resulted in Wiggins winning the National RR title in 2011. The day will be a full day of entertainment for all the family with lots on offer for all spectators. Expect to see some of the top riders in the World out training on the Saturday if you are competing in one of the Challenge rides. 
Race HQ will be at Stamfordham Village Hall where there will be refreshments for spectators and toilet facilities. The Swinburne Arms will also be open for refreshments and food throughout the day.
Spectators will not be allowed to park in Stamfordham and will be directed to designated parking areas outside the village. More details will be given in the programme and parking areas will be signposted.
The race will be subject to a 16A TTRO rolling road closure which will be under the control of Premier Traffic Management and the National Escort Group. There will be delays and all spectators are urged not to attempt to drive around the course unnecessarily.
The race will start at 1.15pm and will be a combination of two circuits. The larger circuit is 22.3mls and includes the climb of the Ryals which will be tackled 4 times by the riders. The smaller circuit is 13.9 mls and this will be tackled twice. The race will start with one lap of the smaller circuit before going on to complete 4 laps of the larger circuit and then finish with a final lap of the small circuit. Total distance 117mls (187km).
The race will be open to the following:
UCI Professional Continental Teams registered in the UK
UCI Foreign Professional Continental Teams (max 2)
UCI Continental Teams
National Teams
Regional and club Teams
The maximum number of riders per team will be 6 with a minimum of 4 to start

Technical Manual

In connection with

Wingrove Motor Company

Download Problems?
When downloading PDF files you will need Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader installed to view these files. click logo below for more details.
 Some of the files contained within this website are in PDF format.  (Please note that you will need Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader to view these files. To find out how to download Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader click here)