Cyclone Festival of Cycling, an event for riders of all abilities and ages

Cyclone Festival of Cycling

12 Treherne Road, High West Jesmond, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne NE2 3NP

+44 (0)7710 635514

Beaumont Trophy - Sunday 7th July 2019

The Beaumont Trophy will take place on the afternoon of Sunday 7th July 2019. The event is a national standard men's road race, which is based in the village of Stamfordham, close to Newcastle upon Tyne. The race has a reputation as one of the most prestigious and toughest events in the British cycling calendar.

History of the Beaumont Trophy

The Beaumont Trophy was was first run in 1952, the year after the organising club, Gosforth Road Club, was formed. The trophy was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had its headquarters.

Since then, the race has been won by many famous riders including Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few. The most prolific winner of the Trophy is Ray Wetherell who has won it 5 times. Sir Bradley Wiggins won it twice, including 2011 when the event was the National Championships. Connor Swift won the race in 2018 when, again, it was the National Championships.

Watching the Race

The race takes place around the village of Stamfordham and takes in the race-defining climb of the Ryals. This climb was where Team Sky launched their attack that resulted in Wiggins winning the National title in 2011 and is often the setting for decisive moves. Expect to see some of the top riders out training and checking out the route on the Saturday if you are taking part in one of the Challenge rides.

Race HQ is at Stamfordham Village Hall where there will be refreshments for spectators and toilet facilities. Spectators are not allowed to park in the centre of Stamfordham and will be directed to well-signposted parking areas just outside the village.

Event Management & Road Closures 

The race is subject to a 16A TTRO rolling road closure. There will be delays and all spectators are asked not to attempt to drive around the course unnecessarily.

The race will be a combination of two circuits. The larger circuit is 22.3 miles and includes the climb of the Ryals which will be tackled four times by the riders. The smaller circuit is 13.9 miles and this will be tackled twice. The race will start with one lap of the smaller circuit before going on to complete 4 laps of the larger circuit and then finish with a final lap of the small circuit. Total race distance is 117mls (187km).


Entry details will be posted here shortly




Help Support The Cyclone Festival Of Cycling

Make A Donation

Social Feeds