Cyclone Festival of Cycling, an event for riders of all abilities and ages

Cyclone Festival of Cycling

12 Treherne Road, High West Jesmond, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne NE2 3NP

+44 (0)7710 635514

Beaumont Trophy

Event Info 

The field will be limited to 140 riders and selection will be done as per the National Series regulations. The race is centred on the village of Stamfordham and takes in the fearsome climb of the Ryals where, most famously, Team Sky launched the attack that resulted in Bradley Wiggins winning the National title in 2011.

The event will be part of a full day of entertainment for all the family with lots on offer for all spectators. Race HQ will be at Stamfordham Village Hall where there will be refreshments for spectators and toilet facilities. The Swinburne Arms will also be open for refreshments and food throughout the day.

Spectators will not be allowed to park in Stamfordham and will be directed to designated parking area at the Stamfordham Cricket Club & Sport Pavilion, just to the South of the village. More details are in the programme and parking areas will be signposted. The race will be subject to a rolling road closure which will be under the control of Northumbria Police and the National Escort Group.

There will be delays and all spectators are urged not to attempt to drive around the course unnecessarily. The race will start at 1.15pm and will be a combination of two circuits. The race will consist of 4 laps of a larger 25 mile circuit and then finish with a final lap of a smaller 14 mile circuit. See our Routes page for maps and more details of the laps.


We're offering a very warm welcome to our brand-new lead-sponsor for the Beaumont Trophy, St Mary's Inn, a wonderful Northumberland pub, hotel and restaurant. Please visit their website to find out more about them: Our other sponsors are listed down the left-hand side of this page. We are grateful to all our backers, riders, local communities and spectators for their support.

Event Spectator Programme & Technical Manual 


Download Event Spectator Programme Includes race timings at key points & spectator parking details. 


Download Event Technical Manual Includes detailed info for riders, teams and race officials 

Provisional Start List 

Drop-Box link to start lists & results

History of the Beaumont Trophy 

The Beaumont Trophy itself is one of the longest running national road events on the calendar. It was first run in 1952, the year after the organising club, Gosforth Road Club, was formed. The trophy was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had its headquarters.

Since then, the race has been won by many famous riders including Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few. The most prolific winner of the Trophy is Ray Wetherell who has won it 5 times. Sir Bradley Wiggins won it twice, including 2011 when the event was the National Championships. Connor Swift won the race in 2018 when, again, it was the National Championships. 

Previous Winners

2005 Malcolm Elliott (GBR) Pinarello–Assos 
2006 Evan Oliphant (GBR) 
2007 Russell Downing (GBR) Health Net–Maxxis 
2008 Rob Hayles (GBR) Team Halfords Bikehut 
2009 Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Garmin–Slipstream 
2010 Chris Newton (GBR) Rapha Condor–Sharp 
2011 Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Team Sky (National Championships) 
2012 Russell Downing (GBR) Endura Racing 
2013 Dean Downing (GBR) Madison Genesis 
2014 Kristian House (GBR) Rapha Condor–JLT 
2015 Christopher Latham (GBR) Great Britain 
2016 Dion Smith (NZL) ONE Pro Cycling 
2017 Peter Williams (GBR) ONE Pro Cycling 
2018 Connor Swift (GBR) Madison Genesis (National Championships)  
2019 Rory Townsend (IRL) Canyon dhb P / B Bloor Homes
2021 Jacob Scott (GBR) Canyon dhb SunGod

2019 Race on Youtube


Help Support The Cyclone Festival Of Cycling

Make A Donation

Social Feeds